Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 1990.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
John Lawrence Reynolds – The Man Who Murdered God
Lisa Priest – Conspiracy of Silence
Laurence Gough – Hot Shots

BC Book Prizes

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Victoria Walker – Suitcase
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Keith Maillard – Motet
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Philip Marchand – Marshall McLuhan
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Western Canada Wilderness Committee – Carmanah
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Paul YeeTales From Gold Mountain

Books in Canada First Novel Award

Books in Canada First Novel Award
Nino Ricci – Lives of the Saints

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Michael Bedard – Redwork
Nino Ricci – Lives of the Saints
Stephen Clarkson & Christina McCall – Trudeau and Our Times
Margaret Avison – No Time

Études et essais
Jean-François Lisée – Dans l'oeil de l'aigle
Littérature Jeunesse
Christiane Duchesne – La Vraie histoire du chien de Clara Vic
Jean-Paul Daoust – Les Cendres bleues
Romans et nouvelles
Gérald Tougas – La Mauvaise foi

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
W.O. Mitchell – According to Jake and the Kid

Writers Trust Awards

Marian Engel Award
Carol Shields
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Bernice Thurman Hunter


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 02 November 2008.
Updated 15 December 2010.