First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • Rick Salutin – A Man of Little Faith

Also shortlisted:

  • Neil Bissoondath – A Casual Brutality
  • Joan Clark – The Victory of Geraldine Gull
  • David Homel – Electrical Storms
  • Janice Kulyk Keefer – Constellations
  • Helen Fogwill Porter – January, February, June or July



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.