First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • Keath Fraser – Popular Anatomy

Also shortlisted:

  • Diana Atkinson – Highways and Dancehalls
  • Wayson Choy – The Jade Peony
  • Larissa Lai – When Fox Is a Thousand
  • Yan Li – Daughters of the Red Land



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.