First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • Ian McLachlan – The Seventh Hexagram
  • Michael Ondaatje – Coming Through Slaughter

Also shortlisted:

  • Alice Boissoneau – Eileen McCullough
  • David Kellum – The Falling World of Tristram Pocket
  • Susan Kerslake – Middlewatch
  • Sharon Riis – The True Story of Ida Johnson
  • Carol Shields – Small Ceremonies
  • Mary Soderstrom – The Descent of Andrew McPherson



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.