First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • Oonah McFee – Sandbars

Also shortlisted:

  • Shane Dennison – Sidehill Gouger
  • Pauline Gedge – Child of the Morning
  • Jack Hodgins – The Invention of the World
  • M.T. Kelly – I Do Remember the Fall
  • Helen Levi – A Small Informal Dance
  • Morley Torgov – The Abramsky Variations



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.