First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • Karen Lawrence – The Life of Helen Alone

Also shortlisted:

  • Jo Anne Williams Bennett – Downfall People
  • Marc Diamond – Momentum
  • David Gilmour – Back on Tuesday
  • Paulette Jiles – The Late Great Human Road Show



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.