Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 1986.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

Maggie Siggins – A Canadian Tragedy
Eric Wright – Death in the Old Country

BC Book Prizes

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Joe Rosenblatt – Poetry Hotel
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Keath Fraser – Foreign Affairs
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Bruce Hutchison – The Unfinished Country
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Donald Graham – Keepers of the Light

Books in Canada First Novel Award

Books in Canada First Novel Award
Karen Lawrence – The Life of Helen Alone

Governor General's Literary Awards

Alice MunroThe Progress of Love
Northrop Frye – Northrop Frye on Shakespeare
Al Purdy – The Collected Poems of Al Purdy

Études et essais
Régine Robin – Le réalisme socialiste: une esthétique impossible
Cécile Cloutier – L'écouté
Romans et nouvelles
Yvon Rivard – Les silences du corbeau

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Joey Slinger – No Axe Too Small to Grind

Lorne Pierce Medal

Lorne Pierce Medal
Rudy Wiebe

Writers Trust Awards

Marian Engel Award
Alice Munro
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Dennis Lee


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 02 November 2008.
Updated 26 June 2010.