First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • Margaret Gibson – Opium Dreams

Also shortlisted:

  • Kim Echlin – Elephant Winter
  • Allan Levine – The Blood Libel
  • Rabindranath Maharaj – Homer in Flight
  • Tim Wynveen – Angel Falls



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.