Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 1997.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
C.C. Benison – Death At Buckingham Palace
Linda Bailey – How Can A Frozen Detective Stay Hot On The Trail
Jean Monet – The Cassock And The Crown
Peter Robinson – Innocent Graves

BC Book Prizes

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Margo Button – The Unhinging of Wings
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Gail Anderson-Dargatz – The Cure for Death by Lightning
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Catherine Lang – O-bon in Chimunesu
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Alan Haig-Brown – The Fraser River
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Sarah EllisBack of Beyond

Books in Canada First Novel Award

Books in Canada First Novel Award
Margaret Gibson – Opium Dreams

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Mordecai Richler – Barney's Version

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Kit Pearson – Awake and Dreaming
Jane UrquhartThe Underpainter
Rachel Manley – Drumblair - Memories of a Jamaican Childhood
Dionne Brand – Land to Light On

Études et essais
Roland Viau – Enfants du néant et mangeurs d'âmes - Guerre, culture et société en Iroquoisie ancienne
Littérature Jeunesse
Michel Noël – Pien
Pierre Nepveu – Romans-fleuves
Romans et nouvelles
Aude – Cet imperceptible mouvement

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Arthur Black – Black in the Saddle Again

Ontario Library Association

Silver Birch Award
Eric Walters – Stars
Shelley Tanaka – On Board the Titanic

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Sandra Birdsell – The Two-Headed Calf
Sandra Birdsell – The Town that Floated Away
Joanne Gerber – In the Misleading Absence of Light
First Book
Joanne Gerber – In the Misleading Absence of Light
Anne Szumigalski – Sermons on Stones
Anne Szumigalski – On Glassy Wings: Poems New and Selected
Regina Book Award
Ven Begamudré – Laterna Magika
Sandra Birdsell – The Two-Headed Calf
Joanne Gerber – In the Misleading Absence of Light

Writers Trust Awards

Marian Engel Award
Katherine Govier
Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Austin Clarke – The Origins of Waves
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Tim Wynne-Jones
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
Ernest Hillen – Small Mercies: A Boy After War


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 03 November 2008.
Updated 27 January 2011.