Arthur Ellis Awards
First Novel


The Arthur Ellis Award for the Best First Crime Novel written in English is awarded by Crime Writers of Canada to an author living in Canada or a Canadian writer living outside of Canada.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • James W. Nichol – Midnight Cab

Also shortlisted:

  • Alvin Abram – The Unlikely Victims
  • Thomas Rendell Curran – Undertow
  • Jonathon Platz – Work of Idle Hands
  • Kevin J. Porter – Come Clean



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 30 April 2006.
Updated 28 March 2009.