Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2003.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
James W. Nichol – Midnight Cab
Jacques Côté – Le rouge ideal
Norah McClintockBreak and Enter
Andrew Mitrovica – Covert Entry
Rick MofinaBlood of Others

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Annette LeBox, Karen Reczuch – Salmon Creek
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
bill bisset – peter among th towring boxes
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Carol Shields – Unless
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Sandra Shields, David Campion – Where Fire Speaks
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Ernest Perrault – Tong
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
James Heneghan – Flood

Books in Canada First Novel Award

Books in Canada First Novel Award
Michel Basilières – Black Bird

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Hubert Aquin – Next Episode (Prochain Épisode)

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Lee HendersonThe Broken Record Technique

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
M.G. Vassanji – The In-Between World of Vikram Lall

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Glen Huser – Stitches
Douglas Glover – Elle
Margaret MacMillan – Paris 1919: Six Months that Changed the World
Tim Lilburn – Kill-site

Études et essais
Thierry Hentsch – Raconter et mourir: aux sources narratives de l'imaginaire occidental
Littérature Jeunesse
Danielle Simard – J'ai vendu ma soeur
Pierre Nepveu – Lignes aériennes
Romans et nouvelles
Élise Turcotte – La maison étrangère

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
Margaret Avison – Concrete and Wild Carrot

Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award

Deborah Ellis – The Breadwinner
Linda Bailey – Adventures With The Vikings
Marthe Pelletier – Chante pour moi, Charlotte

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Dan Needles – With Axe and Flask: A History of Persephone Township from Pre-Cambrian Times to the Present

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
Matt Napier, Melanie Rose – Z is for Zamboni
Golden Oak Award
Karen Levine – Hana's Suitcase
Red Maple Award
Gayle Friesen – Losing Forever
Silver Birch Award
Eric WaltersCamp X
Karen Levine – Hana's Suitcase
White Pine Award
Gillian Chan – A Foreign Field

ReLit Awards

Peter Darbyshire – Please
Margaret Christakos – Excessive Love Prostheses
Short Fiction
Sean Johnston – A Day Does Not Go By

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Donald Ward – Nobody Goes to Earth Any More
Judith Silverthorne – Dinosaur Hideout
J. Jill Robinson – Residual Desire
First Book
Michael Hetherton – Grasslands
Bill Waiser – All Hell Can't Stop Us
Elizabeth Brewster – Jacob's Dream
Reader's Choice
Lois Simmie – What I'm Trying to Say is Goodbye
Regina Book Award
Bruce Rice – The Illustrated Statue of Liberty
Saskatoon Book Award
J. Jill Robinson – Residual Desire

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Robert Mellin – Tilting

Writers Trust Awards

Marian Engel Award
Elisabeth Harvor
Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Kevin Patterson – Country of Cold
Timothy Findley Award
Guy Vanderhaeghe
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Roslyn Schwartz
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
Brian Fawcett – Virtual Clearcut: Or, the Way Things Are in My Hometown


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 04 November 2008.
Updated 05 April 2011.