First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • John Steffler – The Afterlife of George Cartwright

Also shortlisted:

  • Douglas Cooper – Amnesia
  • Carole Corbeil – Voice-over
  • Kenneth J. Harvey – Brud
  • Greg Hollingshead – Spin Dry



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.