First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


Also shortlisted:

  • Dennis Bock – The Ash Garden
  • Michael Crummey – River Thieves
  • Marina Endicott – Open Arms
  • Linda Little – Strong Hollow
  • Elizabeth Ruth – Ten Good Seconds of Silence



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.