Arthur Ellis Awards
First Novel


The Arthur Ellis Award for the Best First Crime Novel written in English is awarded by Crime Writers of Canada to an author living in Canada or a Canadian writer living outside of Canada.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • Simone St. James – The Haunting of Maddy Clare

Also shortlisted:

  • Peggy Blair – The Beggar's Opera
  • Deryn Collier – Confined Space
  • Peter Kirby – The Dead of Winter
  • Chris Laing – A Private Man



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 08 July 2013.
Updated 01 June 2014.