Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2013.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Simone St. James – The Haunting of Maddy Clare
Mario Bolduc – La Nuit des albinos: Sur les traces de Max O'Brien
Shane Peacock – Becoming Holmes
Steve Lillebuen – The Devil's Cinema
Giles Blunt – Until the Night

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Alan Woo, Isabelle Malenfant (illustrator) – Maggie's Chopsticks
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Sarah de Leeuw – Geographies of a Lover
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Bill Gaston – The World
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Geoff Meggs, Rod Mickleburgh – The Art of the Impossible
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Derek Hayes – British Columbia: A New Historical Atlas
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Caroline Adderson – Middle of Nowhere

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Lisa Moore – February

Combat des livres

Combat des livres
Lawrence Hill – Aminata

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Rebecca Lee – Bobcat and other stories

First Novel Award

First Novel Award
Wayne Grady – Emancipation Day

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Lynn Coady – Hellgoing

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Teresa Toten – The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B
Eleanor Catton – The Luminaries
Sandra Djwa – Journey with No Maps
Katherena Vermette – North End Love Songs

Études et essais
Yvon Rivard – Aimer, enseigner
Littérature Jeunesse
Geneviève Mativat – À l'ombre de la grande maison
René Lapierre – Pour les désespérés seulement
Romans et nouvelles
Stéphanie Pelletier – Quand les guêpes se taisent

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
David W. McFadden – What's the Score?

Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award

Catherine Austen – 26 Tips For Surviving Grade 6
Tanya Lloyd Kyi – 50 Poisonous Questions
Arianne Gagnon-Roy – Le mystère de Blandy-les-Tours
Maxim Cyr et Karine Gottot – Les Bleues de New York

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Cassie Stocks – Dance, Gladys, Dance

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
Martin Springett, Isobel Springett – Kate and Pippin
Evergreen Award
Terry Fallis – Up & Down
Golden Oak Award
Joy Fielding – Home Invasion
Red Maple Award
Wesley King – The Vindico
Bill Swan – Real Justice
Silver Birch Award
Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch – Making Bombs For Hitler
Rob Laidlaw – No Shelter Here
Brit Trogen, Kari Trogen – Margaret and the Moth Tree
White Pine Award
Jeyn Roberts – Dark Inside

ReLit Awards

Lynn Crosbie – Life is About Losing Everything
Steven Price – Omens in the Year of the Ox
Short Fiction
Ian Rogers – Every House is Haunted

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Candace Savage – A Geography of Blood
Harriet Richards – The Pious Robber
First Book
Melanie Schnell – While the Sun is Above Us
Prix du Livre
Francoise Sigur-Cloutier, Mireille Lavoie – Théâtre fransaskois 5
Candace Savage – A Geography of Blood
Barbara Langhorst – Restless White Fields
Regina Book Award
Melanie Schnell – While the Sun is Above Us
Saskatoon Book Award
Candace Savage – A Geography of Blood
Young Adult
Alice Kuipers – 40 Things I Want To Tell You

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Paul Bowdring – The Strangers' Gallery

Writers Trust Awards

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Colin McAdam – A Beautiful Truth
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Barbara Reid
Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award
Lisa Moore


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 07 July 2013.
Updated 27 January 2015.