First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


  • Geoffrey Ursell – Perdue: Or How the West Was Lost

Also shortlisted:

  • Sharon Butala – Country of the Heart
  • Douglas Glover – Precious
  • John Gray – Dazzled
  • Sara Stambaugh – I Hear the Reaper's Song
  • Armin Wiebe – The Salvation of Yasch Siemens



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.