First Novel Award


The First Novel Award is given annually for a first novel in English published in the previous year by a Canadian. Formerly known as the Books in Canada First Novel Award.

indicates a review is available for that book


Also shortlisted:

  • Gail Bowen – Deadly Appearances
  • Rita Donovan – The Dark Jewels
  • Glen Huser – Grace Lake
  • Margot Livesey – Homework
  • Carsten Stroud – Sniper's Moon



blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 13 January 2006.
Updated 19 May 2014.