Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2006.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Louise Penny – Still Life
Gérard Galarneau – Motel Riviera
Vicki Grant – Quid Pro Quo
Rebecca Godfrey – Under the Bridge: The True Story of the Murder of Reena Virk
William Deverell – April Fool

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Tanya Lloyd Kyi – The Blue Jean Book
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Meredith Quartermain – Vancouver Walking
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Charlotte Gill – Ladykiller
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Stan Persky – The Short Version
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
John Vaillant – The Golden Spruce
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Barbara Nickel – Hannah Waters and the Daughter of Johann Sebastian Bach

Books in Canada First Novel Award

Books in Canada First Novel Award
Madeleine Thien – Certainty

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Miriam ToewsA Complicated Kindness

Combat des livres

Combat des livres
Francine Noël – La femme de ma vie

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Charlotte Gill – Ladykiller

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Vincent Lam – Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
William Gilkerson – Pirate's Passage
Peter Behrens – The Law of Dreams
Ross King – The Judgment of Paris: The Revolutionary Decade That Gave the World Impressionism
John Pass – Stumbling in the Bloom

Études et essais
Pierre Ouellet – À force de voir: histoire de regards
Littérature Jeunesse
Dany Laferrière – Je suis fou de Vava
Hélène Dorion – Ravir: les lieux
Romans et nouvelles
Andrée Laberge – La rivière du loup

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
Sylvia Legris – Nerve Squall

Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award

Natale Ghent – No Small Thing
Linda Bailey – Adventures in the Ice Age
Diane Carmel Léger – La butte à Pétard

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Arthur Black – Pitch Black

Lorne Pierce Medal

Lorne Pierce Medal
Paul Wyczynski

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
George Elliott, Andrej Krystoforski – The Boy Who Loved Bananas
Evergreen Award
Joseph BoydenThree Day Road
Golden Oak Award
Deborah Ellis – The Heaven Shop
Red Maple Award
Kenneth Oppel – Skybreaker
Silver Birch Award
Edo van Belkom – Wolf Pack
Helaine Becker – Boredom Blasters
White Pine Award
Charles De Lint – The Blue Girl

ReLit Awards

Lisa Moore – Alligator
Leon Rooke – Hot Poppies
Short Fiction
Barry Webster – The Sound of All Flesh

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Michael Trussler – Encounters
Martha Blum – The Apothecary
First Book
Annette Lapointe – Stolen
Prix du Livre
Martine Noël-Maw – Amelia et les Papillons
Marie Elyse St. George – Once in A Blue Moon: An Artist's Life
Daniel Scott Tysdal – Predicting the Next Big Advertising Breakthrough Using a Potentially Dangerous Method
Reader's Choice
Gail Bowen – The Endless Knot
Regina Book Award
Michael Trussler – Encounters
Saskatoon Book Award
Annette Lapointe – Stolen
Young Adult
Arthur SladeMegiddo's Shadow

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Kenneth J. Harvey – Inside

Writers Trust Awards

Marian Engel Award
Caroline Adderson
Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Kenneth J. Harvey – Inside
Timothy Findley Award
Douglas Glover
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Kenneth Oppel
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
Dragan Todorovic – The Book of Revenge: A Blues for Yugoslavia


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 04 November 2008.
Updated 17 June 2010.