Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2005.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Jon Evans – Dark Places
Ann Lamontagne – Les Douze Pierres
Carrie Mac – The Beckoners
Matthew Hart – The Irish Game: A True Story of Crime and Art
Barbara Fradkin – Fifth Son

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Marilynn Reynolds, Renné Benoit – Goodbye to Griffith Street
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Jan Zwicky – Robinson's Crossing
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Pauline Holdstock – Beyond Measure
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Charles Montgomery – The Last Heathen
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Stephen Hume, Alexandra Morton, Betty C. Keller, Rosella M. Leslie, Otto Langer, Don Staniford – A Stain Upon the Sea
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Susan JubyMiss Smithers

Books in Canada First Novel Award

Books in Canada First Novel Award
Joseph BoydenThree Day Road

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Frank Parker Day – Rockbound

Combat des livres

Combat des livres
Réjean Ducharme – L'avalée des avalés

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
David BezmozgisNatasha and Other Stories

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
David Bergen – The Time In Between

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Pamela Porter – The Crazy Man
David Gilmour – A Perfect Night to Go to China
John Vaillant – The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed
Anne Compton – Processional

Études et essais
Michel Bock – Quand la nation débordait les frontières: les minorités françaises dans la pensée de Lionel Groulx
Littérature Jeunesse
Camille Bouchard – Le ricanement des hyènes
Jean-Marc Desgent – Vingtièmes siècles
Romans et nouvelles
Aki Shimazaki – Hotaru

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
Roo Borson – Short Journey Upriver Towards Oishida

Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award

Deborah Ellis – Mud City
Diane Swanson – Tunnels!
Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award: Romans
Alain M. Bergeron – Zak le fantôme

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Will Ferguson – Beauty Tips from Moose Jaw

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
Robert Heidbreder, Bill Slavin, Esperança Melo – Drumheller Dinosaur Dance
Evergreen Award
Mary LawsonCrow Lake
Golden Oak Award
Richardo Keens-Douglas – Tales From the Isle of Spice
Red Maple Award
Fiction: Kenneth Oppel – Airborn
Non-Fiction: Andreas Schroeder – Scams!
Silver Birch Award
Sharon Stewart – Raven Quest
Marg Meikle, Tina Holdcroft – Ask Me Anything: Strange But True Answers to 99 Wacky Questions
White Pine Award
Marnelle Tokio – More Than You Can Chew

ReLit Awards

Sky Gilbert – An English Gentleman
A.F. Moritz – Night Street Repairs
Short Fiction
James Grainger – The Long Slide

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Steven Ross Smith – fluttertongue 3: disarray
Beth Goobie – Fixed
Sandra Birdsell – Children of the Day
First Book
Eric Greenway – The Darkness Beneath All Things
Sharon Butala – Lilac Moon
Allan Safarik – When Light Falls from the Sun
Reader's Choice
Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan
Regina Book Award
Maggie Siggins – Bitter Embrace
Saskatoon Book Award
Don Kerr – The Garden of Art: Vic Cicansky, Sculptor

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Joan Clark – An Audience of Chairs

Writers Trust Awards

Marian Engel Award
Gayla Reid
Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Joseph BoydenThree Day Road
Timothy Findley Award
Rohinton Mistry
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Marie-Louise Gay
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
John Vaillant – The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 04 November 2008.
Updated 23 June 2010.