Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 1998.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Kathy Reichs – Deja Dead
Norah McClintockThe Body in the Basement
Patricia PearsonWhen She Was Bad: Violent Women and The Myth of Innocence
William Deverell – Trial of Passion

BC Book Prizes

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Patricia Young – What I Remember from My Time on Earth
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Marilyn Bowering – Visible Worlds
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Suzanne Fournier, Ernie Crey – Stolen from Our Embrace
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Richard Bocking – Mighty River
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
James Heneghan – Wish Me Luck

Books in Canada First Novel Award

Books in Canada First Novel Award
André AlexisChildhood

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Curtis Gillespie – The Progress of an Object in Motion

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Alice MunroThe Love of a Good Woman

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Janet Lunn – The Hollow Tree
Diane SchoemperlenForms of Devotion
David Adams Richards – Lines on the Water - A Fisherman's Life on the Miramichi
Stephanie Bolster – White Stone: The Alice Poems

Études et essais
Pierre Nepveu – Intérieurs du Nouveau Monde: Essais sur les littératures du Québec et des Amériques
Littérature Jeunesse
Angèle Delaunois – Variations sur un même ?t'aime?
Suzanne Jacob – La Part de feu précédé de Le Deuil de la rancune
Romans et nouvelles
Christiane Frenette – La Terre ferme

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Mordecai Richler – Barney's Version

Lorne Pierce Medal

Lorne Pierce Medal
David Staines

Ontario Library Association

Red Maple Award
Carol Matas – After the War
Silver Birch Award
Ken Oppel – Silverwing
Hugh Brewster – Anastasia's Album

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Susan Andrews Grace – Ferry Woman's History of the World
Larry Warwaruk – The Ukrainian Wedding
First Book
Harriet Richards – The Lavender Child
Yvonne Johnson, Rudy Wiebe – Stolen Life: The Journey of a Cree Woman
Steven Michael Berzensky – Variations on the Birth of Jacob
Regina Book Award
Britt Holmström – The Man Next Door
Saskatoon Book Award
R.P. MacIntyre – The Crying Jesus
Young Adult
Betty Fitzpatrick Dorion – Bay Girl

Writers Trust Awards

Marian Engel Award
Sharon Butala
Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Greg HollingsheadThe Healer
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Kit Pearson
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
Rudy Wiebe and Yvonne Johnson – Stolen Life: A Journey of a Cree Woman


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 04 November 2008.
Updated 19 January 2011.