Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 1999.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Liz Brady – Sudden Blow
Norah McClintockSins of the Father
Derek Finkle – No Claim to Mercy
Nora Kelly – Old Wounds

BC Book Prizes

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
David Zieroth – How I Joined Humanity At Last
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Jack Hodgins – Broken Ground
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Peter Newman – Titans
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Mark Hume, Harvey Thommassen – River of the Angry Moon
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Sandra Lightburn, Ron Lightburn – Driftwood Cove

Books in Canada First Novel Award

Books in Canada First Novel Award
David Macfarlane – Summer Gone
Alan R. Wilson – Before the Flood

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Dennis Bock – Olympia

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Bonnie BurnardA Good House

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Rachna Gilmore – A Screaming Kind of Day
Matt Cohen – Elizabeth and After
Marq de Villiers – Water
Jan Zwicky – Songs for Relinquishing the Earth

Études et essais
Pierre Perrault – Le Mal du Nord
Littérature Jeunesse
Charlotte Gingras – La Liberté? Connais pas...
Herménégilde Chiasson – Conversations
Romans et nouvelles
Lise Tremblay – La Danse juive

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Stuart McLean – Home From the Vinyl Cafe

Ontario Library Association

Red Maple Award
Gayle Friesen – Janey's Girl
Silver Birch Award
Eric WaltersTrapped in Ice
Marg Meikle – Funny You Should Ask

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Tim Lilburn – To the River
David Richards – The Lady at Batoche
Brenda Baker – The Maleness of God
First Book
Martha Blum – The Walnut Tree
Tim Lilburn – Living in the World as if It Were Home
Hilary Clark – More Light
Regina Book Award
Paul Wilson – The Long Landscape
Saskatoon Book Award
Martha Blum – The Walnut Tree

Writers Trust Awards

Marian Engel Award
Janice Kulyk Keefer
Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Peter Oliva – The City of Yes
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Joan Clark
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
Modris Eksteins – Walking Since Daybreak


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 04 November 2008.
Updated 10 August 2010.