Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2012.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Ian Hamilton – The Water Rat of Wanchai
Martin Michaud – La chorale du diable
Tim Wynne-Jones – Blink & Caution
Joshua Knelman – Hot Art
Peter Robinson – Before the Poison

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Sara O'Leary, Julie Morstad (illustrator) – When I Was Small
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
John Pass – crawlspace
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Esi Edugyan – Half-Blood Blues
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Charlotte Gill – Eating Dirt
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Chuck Davis – The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Moira Young – Blood Red Road

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Carmen Aguirre – Something Fierce

Combat des livres

Combat des livres
Marie-Renée Lavoie – La petite et le vieux

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Ian Williams – Not Anyone's Anything

First Novel Award

First Novel Award
Anakana Schofield – Malarky

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Will Ferguson – 419

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Susin Nielsen – The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen
Linda Spalding – The Purchase
Ross King – Leonardo and the Last Supper
Julie Bruck – Monkey Ranch

Études et essais
Normand Chaurette – Comment tuer Shakespeare
Littérature Jeunesse
Aline Apostolska – Un été d'amour et de cendres
Maude Smith Gagnon – Un drap. Une place.
Romans et nouvelles
France Daigle – Pour sûr

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
Ken Babstock – Methodist Hatchet

Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award

Hugh Brewster – Prisoner of Dieppe: World War II
Catherine Rondina – Don't Touch That Toad and Other Strange Things Adult Tell You
Richard Petit – Ton journal intime Zone Frousse
Stéphane C. Dubois – Le petit livre des affaires dégueulasses

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Patrick deWitt – The Sisters Brothers

Lorne Pierce Medal

Lorne Pierce Medal
Aritha Van Herk

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
Rebecca Bender – Giraffe and Bird
Evergreen Award
Linwood Barclay – The Accident
Golden Oak Award
Cindy Watson – Out of Darkness
Red Maple Award
Kenneth Oppel – Half Brother
Silver Birch Award
David Skuy – Undergrounders
Catherine Rondina, Kevin Sylvester – Don't Touch That Toad & Other Strange Things Adults Tell You
Jan Andrews, Dušan Petricic – When Apples Grew Noses and White Horses Flew
White Pine Award
Kelley Armstrong – The Gathering
Neil Pasricha – The Book of Awesome

ReLit Awards

Suzette Mayr – Monoceros
Patrick Friesen – Jumping in the Asylum
Short Fiction
Greg Kearney – Pretty

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Andy Jones – Jack and Mary in the Land of Thieves

Writers Trust Awards

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Tamas Dobozy – Siege 13
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Paul Yee
Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award
Nino Ricci


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 03 February 2013.
Updated 27 January 2015.