Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2011.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Avner Mandleman – The Debba
Jacques Côté – Dans le quartier des agités
Alice Kuipers – The Worst Thing She Ever Did
Stevie Cameron – On the Farm
Louise Penny – Bury Your Dead

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Julie Flett – Owls See Clearly at Night
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Stephen Collis – On the Material
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Gurjinder Basran – Everything Was Good-Bye
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
John Vaillant – The Tiger
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Dan Savard – Images from the Likeness House
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Maggie de Vries – Hunger Journeys

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Terry FallisThe Best Laid Plans

Combat des livres

Combat des livres
Perrine Leblanc – L'homme blanc

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Billie Livingston – Greedy Little Eyes

First Novel Award

First Novel Award
David Bezmozgis – The Free World

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Esi Edugyan – Half-Blood Blues

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Christopher Moore – From Then to Now
Patrick deWitt – The Sisters Brothers
Charles Foran – Mordecai: The Life & Times
Phil Hall – Killdeer

Études et essais
Georges Leroux – Wanderer
Littérature Jeunesse
Martin Fournier – L'enfer ne brûle pas
Louise Dupré – Plus haut que les flammes
Romans et nouvelles
Perrine Leblanc – L'homme blanc

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
Dionne Brand – Ossuaries

Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award

Ashley Spires – Binky: The Space Cat
Valerie Wyatt – How to Build Your Own Country
Richard Petit – La plus jolie histoire
Gilles Tibo – Le dico de Tibo

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Trevor Cole – Practical Jean

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
Dave Whamond – My Think-A-Ma-Jink
Red Maple Award
Vicki Grant – Not Suitable for Family Viewing
Mariatu Kamara – The Bite of the Mango
Silver Birch Award
Kevin Sylvester – Neil Flambé and the Marco Polo Murders
Valerie Wyatt, Fred Rix – How to Build Your Own Country
Ashley Spires – Binky the Space Cat
White Pine Award
Richard Scarsbrook – The Monkeyface Chronicles

ReLit Awards

Craig Francis Power – Blood Relatives
Dani Couture – Sweet
Short Fiction
Tony Burgess – Ravenna Gets

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Darren R. Prefontaine – Gabriel Dumont
Adele Dueck – Racing Home
Harold Johnson – The Cast Stone
First Book
Anne McDonald – To The Edge of the Sea
Curtis R. McManus – Happyland
Thelma Poirier – Rock Creek Blues
Regina Book Award
Mark Cronlund Anderson, Carmen L. Robertson – Seeing Red
Saskatoon Book Award
Jeff Park – The Cellophane Sky

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Don McKay – The Shell of the Tortoise

Writers Trust Awards

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Patrick deWitt – The Sisters Brothers
Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award
Wayne Johnston
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Iain Lawrence
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 16 February 2011.
Updated 27 January 2015.