Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2010.

indicates a review is available for that book First Novel Award First Novel Award
Eleanor Catton – The Rehearsal

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Alan Bradley – The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
Jean Lemieux – Le mort du chemin des Arsene
Barbara Haworth-Attard – Haunted
Terry Gould – Murder Without Borders
Howard Shrier – High Chicago

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Frieda Wishinsky, Dean Griffiths – Maggie Can't Wait
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Fred Wah – is a door
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Cathleen With – Having Faith in the Polar Girls' Prison
Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize
Lorna Crozier – Small Beneath the Sky
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Andrew Paul Scott – Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Carrie Mac – The Gryphon Project

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Nicolas Dickner – Nikolski

Combat des livres

Combat des livres
Dany Laferrière – L'énigme du retour

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Sarah Roberts – Wax Boats

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Johanna Skibsrud – The Sentimentalists

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Wendy Phillips – Fishtailing
Dianne Warren – Cool Water
Allan Casey – Lakeland
Richard Greene – Boxing the Compass

Études et essais
Michel Lavoie – C'est ma seigneurie que je réclame
Littérature Jeunesse
Élise Turcotte – Rose
Danielle Fournier – effleurés de lumière
Romans et nouvelles
Kim Thúy – Ru

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
Karen Solie – Pigeon

Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award

Ingrid Lee – Dog Lost
David Acer – Gotcha! 18 Amazing Ways to Freak Out Your Friends
Tina Landry – Le cimetière de Boisvert
Annie Groovie – Délirons avec Léon spécial Olympiques

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Will Ferguson – Beyond Belfast

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
Jeremy Tankard – Boo Hoo Bird
Evergreen Award
Jessica Grant – Come, Thou Tortoise
Golden Oak Award
Katie Smith Milway, Eugenie Fernandes – One Hen
Red Maple Award
Susin Neilsen – Word Nerd
Silver Birch Award
Robert Paul Weston – Zorgamazoo
Larry Verstraete – At the Edge
Cyndi Sand-Eveland – Dear Toni
White Pine Award
Pam Bustin – Mostly Happy

ReLit Awards

Michael Kenyon – The Beautiful Children
Gillian Jerome – Red Nest
Short Fiction
Stuart Ross – Buying Cigarettes for the Dog

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
David Carpenter – A Hunter's Confession
Sandra Birdsell – Waiting for Joe
First Book
Amy Jo Ehman – Prairie Feast
Alexandra Popoff – Sophia Tolstoy
Dave Margoshes – Dimensions of an Orchard
Prix du livre
Martine Noël-Maw – Dans le pli des collines, 2e éd.
Regina Book Award
Dianne Warren – Cool Water
Saskatoon Book Award
Alexandra Popoff – Sophia Tolstoy
Young Adult
Arthur Slade – The Dark Deeps

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Russell Wangersky – The Glass Harmonica

Writers Trust Awards

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Emma Donoghue – Room
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Polly Horvath
Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award
Miriam Toews
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
James FitzGerald – What Disturbs Our Blood


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 11 March 2010.
Updated 27 January 2015.