Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2009.

indicates a review is available for that book First Novel Award First Novel Award
Jessica Grant – Come, Thou Tortoise

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Howard Shrier – Buffalo Jump
Jacques Côté – Le Chemin des brumes
Sharon E. McKay – War Brothers
Michael Calce and Craig Silverman – Mafiaboy: How I Cracked the Internet and Why It's Still Broken
Linwood BarclayToo Close to Home

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Katarina Jovanovic – The King Has Goat Ears
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Daphne Marlatt – The Given
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Lee Henderson – The Man Game
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Gabor Mate – In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Stephen Hume – Simon Fraser
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Polly Horvath – My One Hundred Adventures

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Lawrence Hill – The Book of Negroes

Combat des livres

Combat des livres
Rawi Hage, Sophie Voillot (trans.) – Parfum de poussière (De Niro's Game)

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Pasha Malla – The Withdrawal Method

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Linden MacIntyre – The Bishop's Man

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Caroline Pignat – Greener Grass: The Famine Years
Kate Pullinger – The Mistress of Nothing
M.G. Vassanji – A Place Within: Rediscovering India
David Zieroth – The Fly in Autumn

Études et essais
Nicole V. Champeau – Pointe Maligne : l'infiniment oubliée
Littérature Jeunesse
Hervé Bouchard – Harvey
Hélène Monette – Thérèse pour joie et orchestre
Romans et nouvelles
Julie Mazzieri – Le discours sur la tombe de l'idiot

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
A.F. Moritz – The Sentinel

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Mark Leiren-Young – Never Shoot a Stampede Queen

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
Mélanie Watt – Chester
Evergreen Award
Steven Galloway – Cellist of Sarajevo
Golden Oak Award
Alma Fullerton – Libertad
Red Maple Award
Fiction: Norah McClintockOut of the Cold
Non-Fiction: Elizabeth MacLeod – Royal Murder
Silver Birch Award
Mahtab Narsimhan – The Third Eye
Kevin Sylvester – Gold Medal for Weird
Alan Cumyn – Dear Sylvia
White Pine Award
Corey Doctorow – Little Brother

ReLit Awards

Michael Blouin – Chase & Haven
Maurice Mierau – Fear Not
Short Fiction
Lisa Foad – The Night is a Mouth

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Margaret Hryniuk, Frank Korvemaker, Larry Easton – Legacy of Stone: Saskatchewan's Stone Buildings
Karen Edwards – One Cold Armpit
Connie Gault – Euphoria: A Novel
First Book
George Epp – Off Road
Trevor Herriot – Grass, Sky, Song: Promise and Peril in the World of Grassland Birds
Gerald Hill – 14 Tractors
Reader's Choice
Marlene Millar, Dene Honϋ: Stories from the People
Regina Book Award
Trevor Herriot – Grass, Sky, Song: Promise and Peril in the World of Grassland Birds
Saskatoon Book Award
David Carpenter – Niceman Cometh

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Jessica Grant – Come, Thou Tortoise

Writers Trust Awards

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Annabel Lyon – The Golden Mean
Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award
David Bergen
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
Brian Brett – Trauma Farm: A Rebel History of Rural Life


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 12 March 2009.
Updated 27 January 2015.