Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2004.

indicates a review is available for that book

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Jan Rehner – Just Murder
Jean Lemieux – On finit toujours par payer
Graham McNamee – Acceleration
Julian Sher & William Marsden, The Road to Hell
Giles Blunt – The Delicate Storm

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Linda Bailey, Bill Slavin – Stanley's Party
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Philip Kevin Paul – Taking the Names Down From the Hill
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Caroline AddersonSitting Practice
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Maria Tippett, Bill Reid – The Making of an Indian
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
Donald Luxton – Building the West
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Dennis Foon – Skud

Books in Canada First Novel Award

Books in Canada First Novel Award
Colin MacAdam – Some Great Thing

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Guy Vanderhaeghe – The Last Crossing

Combat des livres

Combat des livres
Gil Courtemanche – Un dimanche à la piscine à Kigali

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Jacqueline Baker – A Hard Witching & Other Stories

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Alice MunroRunaway

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
Kenneth Oppel – Airborn
Miriam ToewsA Complicated Kindness
Lt.-Gen. Roméo Dallaire – Shake Hands with the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda
Roo Borson – Short Journey Upriver Toward Oishida

Études et essais
Jean-Jacques Simard – La Réduction: l'Autochtone inventé et les Amérindiens d'aujourd'hui
Littérature Jeunesse
Nicole Leroux – L'Hiver de Léo Polatouche
André Brochu – Les jours à vif
Romans et nouvelles
Pascale Quiviger – Le cercle parfait

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
Anne Simpson – Loop

Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award

Alan Cumyn – The Secret Life of Owen Skye
Karen Levine – Hana's Suitcase
Lucia Cavezzali – Opération Juliette

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Ian Ferguson – Village of the Small Houses

Lorne Pierce Medal

Lorne Pierce Medal
William H. New

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
Linda Bailey, Bill Slavin – Stanley's Party
Golden Oak Award
Deborah Ellis – Parvana's Journey
Red Maple Award
Norah McClintockHit and Run
Silver Birch Award
Michael McGowan – Newton and the Giant
Larry Verstraete – Survivors! True Death-Defying Escapes
White Pine Award
Don Aker – The First Stone

ReLit Awards

Darren Greer – Still Life with June
Souvankham Thammavongsa – Small Arguments
Short Fiction
Tony Burgess – Fiction for Lovers

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Candace Savage – Prairie, A Natural History
Larry Gasper – Princes in Waiting
First Book
Bonnie Dunlop – The Beauty Box
Candace Savage – Prairie, A Natural History
Gerald Hill – Getting to Know You
Reader's Choice
Byrna Barclay – Girl at the Window
Regina Book Award
Byrna Barclay – The Room with Five Walls
Saskatoon Book Award
Robert Calder – Beware the British Serpent
Young Adult
Beth Goobie – Flux

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Edward Riche – The Nine Planets

Writers Trust Awards

Marian Engel Award
Dianne Warren
Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Alice MunroRunaway
Timothy Findley Award
David Adams Richards
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Deborah Ellis
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
Elaine Dewar – The Second Tree: Of Clones, Chimeras, and Quests for Immortality


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 04 November 2008.
Updated 10 December 2010.