Canadian Literary Awards


Winners of Canadian literary awards for 2008.

indicates a review is available for that book First Novel Award First Novel Award
Joan Thomas – Reading by Lightning

Arthur Ellis Awards

First Novel
Liam Durcan – Garcia's Heart
Mario Bolduc – Tsiganes
Shane Peacock – Eye of the Crow
Julian Sher – One Child at a Time: The Global Fight to Rescue Children from Online Predators
Jon Redfern – Trumpets Sound No More

BC Book Prizes

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize
Robert Heidbreder, Kady MacDonald Denton – A Sea-Wishing Day
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize
Rita Wong – Forage
Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize
Mary Novik – Conceit
Hubert Evans Non-fiction Prize
Robert Bringhurst – Everywhere Being is Dancing
Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize
J.B. MacKinnon, Alisa Smith – The 100-Mile Diet
Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize
Polly Horvath – The Corps of the Bare-Boned Plane

Canada Reads

Canada Reads
Paul QuarringtonKing Leary

Combat des livres

Combat des livres
Éric Dupont – La logeuse

Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
Andrew Hood – Pardon Our Monsters

Giller Prize

Giller Prize
Joseph Boyden – Through Black Spruce

Governor General's Literary Awards

Children's Literature
John Ibbitson – The Landing
Nino Ricci – The Origin of Species
Christie Blatchford – Fifteen Days: Stories of Bravery, Friendship, Life and Death from Inside the New Canadian Army
Jacob Scheier – More to Keep Us Warm

Études et essais
Pierre Ouellet – Hors-temps : poétique de la posthistoire
Littérature Jeunesse
Sylvie Desrosiers – Les trois lieues
Michel Pleau – La lenteur du monde
Romans et nouvelles
Marie-Claire Blais – Naissance de Rebecca à l'ère des tourments

Griffin Poetry Prize

Griffin Poetry Prize
Robin Blaser – The Holy Forest

Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award

Julie Lawson – No Safe Harbour
Kathy Kacer – Hiding Edith

Melvin Gallant – Ti-Jean-le-Rusé
Denis Boucher – Le monstre du lac Baker

Leacock Medal for Humour

Leacock Medal for Humour
Terry FallisThe Best Laid Plans

Lorne Pierce Medal

Lorne Pierce Medal
Rosemary Sullivan

Ontario Library Association

Blue Spruce Award
Mélanie Watt – Scaredy Squirrel Makes a Friend
Evergreen Award
Lawrence Hill – The Book of Negroes
Golden Oak Award
Deborah Ellis – I Am a Taxi
Red Maple Award
Eric Walters – Safe as Houses
Silver Birch Award
Linda DeMeulemeester – The Secret of Grim Hill
Helaine Becker, Dave Whamond – Secret Agent Y.O.U: The Official Guide to Secret Codes, Disguises, Surveillance and More
Dan Bar-el – Things are Looking Grimm, Jill
OLA: White Pine Award
Martine Leavitt – Keturah and Lord Death

ReLit Awards

Gil AdamsonThe Outlander
Gillian Wigmore – Soft Geography
Short Fiction
Roberta Rees – Long After Fathers

Saskatchewan Book Awards

Book of the Year
Gary Hyland – Love of Mirrors: Poems New and Selected
Pam Bustin – Mostly Happy
First Book
Pam Bustin – Mostly Happy
Donna Caruso – Journey Without A Map, Growing Up Italian: A Memoir
Gary Hyland – Love of Mirrors: Poems New and Selected
Prix du Livre
David Baudemont – Olga
Reader's Choice
Janita Van de Velde – Postcards Never Written
Regina Book Award
David McLennan – Our Towns: Saskatchewan Communities from Abbey to Zenon Park
Saskatoon Book Award
Louise Bernice Halfe – The Crooked Good
Young Adult
Alison Lohans – This Land We Call Home

Winterset Award

Winterset Award
Randall Maggs – Night Work: The Sawchuck Poems

Writers Trust Awards

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Miriam Toews – The Flying Troutmans
Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature
Michael Kusugak
Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award
Michael Winter
Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize
Taras Grescoe – Bottomfeeder: How to Eat Ethically in a World of Vanishing Seafood


blog comments powered by Disqus

Added 04 November 2008.
Updated 27 January 2015.